Press Release: 10 March 2021

Media Release
Released by the wRite associates
The closing date of the 16thSouth African Literary Awards has been extended to the 7th May 2021.
“This is to allow more time to facilitate the submissions for the new category, the Regional Poet Laureate Prize, which will include the selection of the Provincial Poets Laureate SALA will be inaugurating on 7th November 2021, the AU-declared International African Writers’ Day,” said Mr Morakabe Raks Seakhoa, the SALA Project Director and Managing Director of the wRite associates.
The prestigious South African Literary Awards were founded in 2005 by the wRite associates, supported by the then national Department of Arts and Culture (now the Department of Sport, Arts and Culture), as a platform to honour authors, writers, poets and literary practitioners who made and continue to make a contribution in the literary landscape of South Africa.
To date, more than two hundred literary luminaries have been honoured (over the last fifteen years), amongst them Prof. J.J Moiloa, a Sesotho author of many booksprescribed for many years in schools in South Africa and other countries; Prof. Ephraim Lesoro, a Sesotho poet of high standing, broadcaster, scholar and educator; Toek Blignaut, was an author of over 80 books and 200 short stories. As a journalist and magazine editor, she interviewed the late heart surgeon Christian Barnard and made the first interview with Rain Queen Mokope Modjadji; Dr Gubudla Malindzisa, multi-award winning novelist, short-story writer, essayist, literary translator, legal eagle, broadcaster, and an educator; Trevor Noah, a South African comedian, television host, producer, writer, political commentator, actor and the host of The Daily Show, an American satirical news program on Comedy Central; Fred Khumalo, author, journalist, editor, publisher, literary translator, and columnist; Marlise Joubert; Phumlani Pikoli; current National Poet Laureate, Prof Mongane Wally Serote; the late Miriam Tlali, the first African woman to publish a novel in English; the late Nobel Award winner, NadineGordimer; multi-award winning novelist Kgebetli Moele, literary journalists Phakama Mbonambi, Bongani Madondo and Sabata-Mpho Mokae; poet Kobus Moolman; book critics Karabo Kgoleng and Jenny Crwys-Williams; poet and author Ambassador Lindiwe Mabuza; short story writers Makhosazana Xaba and Reneilwe Malatji; scholars and prolific writers Zakes Mda, Mbulelo Mzamane, Ashraaf Kagee,
Nhlanhla Maake, Imraan Coovadia; the late translator, poet, novelist and children’s writer Chris van Wyk; Lebohang Masango, also a children’s author, and many others.
SALA honours writing and writers in all official languages across the following 16 categories, i.e
1. National Poet Laureate Prize (Not open for nomination)
2. Regional Poet Laureate Prize
3. Municipality Poet Laureate Prize (to be inaugurated in 2022)
4. Poetry Award,
5. Literary Translators Award,
6. Lifetime Achievement Literary Award,
7. Posthumous Literary Award,
8. Literary Journalism Award,
9. Novel Award
10. First-Time Published Author Award
11. k.Sello Duiker Memorial Literary Award
12. Nadine Gordimer Short-story Award
13. Creative Non-Fiction Award
14. Chairperson’s Award
15. Children’s Literature Award
16. Youth Literature Award
The SALA 2021 Call For Submissions were issued on 14th January 2021 and closes on 7th May 2021. For more information on the submission criteria and nomination forms, please visit